Welcome!

Welcome to my new and only blog, Zeitgeist in a Petiole (henceforth called ZiaP for ease of typing), a collection of links, pics, videos, news, thoughts, discussion, jokes and occasional rants.  What’s it about?  It’s an exploration of culture, particularly the intersection of net culture with the physical and social world as we traditionally experience it.

Much more simply put, this blog is dedicated to showing the best and newest additions to our collective human, national and global cultures.  I view the internet as a rich environment for discovering the zeitgeists of the day, those spirits of our time (of which there are many), expressed and often shaped by popular viral emails and internet memes.  We’ve all seen online the most beautiful anecdotes of human grace and kindness.  We’ve laughed our collective asses off at so many people and animals doing the funniest things.  We have also all experienced online inhumanity, from the debased posturing of internet trolls to ghastly examples of the terrible injuries people can inflict upon one another.  These stories have always existed, but now they are shared worldwide — often instantaneously.

The majority of posts will be links I’ve found to be of special note or on the bleeding edge of happenings as viewed online.  I will occasionally interject with an opinion or maybe a snippet about myself.  I should warn all readers that I have been told by friends that I have a most irreverent sense of humor.  I don’t really see it, but suffice it to say that there are no sacred cows here.  I’ve also been told I can cuss a blue streak.  Suffice it to say I won’t be blanking out any words, either.  Same goes for pics and videos.  Just consider the everpresent potential of a post being NSFW.  If you’re offended, I hope you’ll simply move on to the next post and not to the next blog.

I will attempt to comply with all rules of attribution and copyright laws, but I hope folks will cut me some slack as I learn the ins and outs of linking to other material.  A polite request to remove a linked post will most likely be met with a polite, compliant response.

Finally, a note of thanks to all who are on my various email lists and whose inboxes will undoubtedly fill up less quickly with the start of my posting to ZiaP in lieu of email.  I appreciate your tolerance of the occasional “irrational exuberance” in my email forwarding habits.  I still hope that you’ll let me know how you like/agree with/disagree with/detest the points of view expressed in the posts, even if “Take me off your fucking mail list!” is no longer a helpful suggestion.

Cheers, and enjoy the blog!

Jeff

Leave a Reply

