What is up with the name of this blog?

Good question.  My chief goal in writing the blog is to show what’s hot and innovative in the world, whether it be a new gadget, a fresh idea or viewpoint, or just a timely joke.  The word zeitgeist bubbled up as a name since I’m trying, over time and in my own little way, to reflect the culture and environment in which we live by showing content with relevance to issues of the day.  The phrase “zeitgeist in a petiole” speaks to the organic nature of the development of trends and historical patterns, using plant growth and fractals as models for history.  Hey, I’m a gardening geek… I think of everything in terms related to seeds, stems and leaves.

But I also wanted to use the blog as a platform to express myself, as well as just have a bit of fun.  I may have high-falutin’ ideas about the presentation of the site, but at the end of the day it’s mostly just about what I find interesting, humorous, original, and stunningly beautiful.  I look forward to watching the blog… well, grow.

2 Responses to “What is up with the name of this blog?”

  1. Curt Says:

    I had to look it up. And I still couldn’t figure out what it meant. Thanks for ‘splaining.

  2. jeffbowers Says:

    It’s the least I could do 🙂

Leave a Reply

