“I no longer recognize marriage.”

Tom Ackerman outlines a new approach to raising awareness about marriage equality: he simply does not recognize anyone else’s marriage.

I no longer recognize marriage. It’s a new thing I’m trying.

Turns out it’s fun.

Yesterday I called a woman’s spouse her boyfriend.

She says, correcting me, “He’s my husband,”
“Oh,” I say, “I no longer recognize marriage.”

The impact is obvious. I tried it on a man who has been in a relationship for years,

“How’s your longtime companion, Jill?”
“She’s my wife!”
“Yeah, well, my beliefs don’t recognize marriage.”

Fun. And instant, eyebrow-raising recognition. Suddenly the majority gets to feel what the minority feels. In a moment they feel what it’s like to have their relationship downgraded, and to have a much taken-for-granted right called into question because of another’s beliefs.

I may have to try this.  It certainly drives the point home to folks who take marriage for granted and who don’t stop to think exactly what it means to deny this most basic of human rights to gays and lesbians.

[Via Andrew Sullivan]

Leave a Reply

