Beer can and bacon

You know, she’s got a point.

small_beer can

[From Blame It On The Voices]

5 Responses to “Beer can and bacon”

  1. soubriquet Says:

    English accent? What’s one of those?

    (i’m English… I have a Yorkshire accent, which is nothing at all like a Cornish one, or a Brummie one, or a Geordie one, yet all of us are English)

  2. jeffbowers Says:

    How does the comparison fare with a Yorkshire accent? Oddly enough, I keep hearing an American Eastern New England (aka Yankee) accent when I attempt my best Rastafarian “bacon.”

  3. soubriquet Says:

    It would be very difficult for me to say… If you spoke to people in west/central yorkshire, th “a” sound would be short, however, north-east yorkshire, near the Tees estuary, you might hear something closer to “beeeacon”.

    You might find it interesting and amusing to listen to regional voices, as recorded by the BBC in their “voices” project,
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/voices/recordings/index.shtml

    Despite the fact that a lot of our TV programs are from the U.S, I confess I’m not able reliably to guess a speaker’s origin, though i can recognise, sometimes, broad regional differences.
    Here in Yorkshire we can see pronunciation differences in as little as three to five miles. I lived the first twelve years of my life n a small village 11 miles north-east of Leeds, Yorkshire.
    When my family moved to the Leeds suburb of Roundhay, kids at school laughed at me for my “country” vocabulary, and pronunciation.
    A mile down the road from Roundhay, in Harehills, people speak differently again.
    (And there are quite a few Jamaicans there too!)

  4. soubriquet Says:

    Ha!
    I just listened to your post on “Don’t send a man to the grocery store”

    That was difficult, at times, for me to understand.
    Without cheating and looking her up, I’m guessing -Georgia?

  5. jeffbowers Says:

    Ms. Robertson hails from North Carolina, but the differences from a Georgia dialect are subtle and difficult even for an old Georgia boy like me to discern.

    I’ll check out your link to the Voices project. I’ve read somewhere before that the Southern dialect is the most similar of American English variations to some of the more commonly spoken dialects in 18th century England. My guess is that the similarities emerge in some of the more basic phonetic structures, but that the two probably wouldn’t sound all that much alike, especially given the profoundly different word usage and idioms of current times.

Leave a Reply

